System Of A Down Are Releasing New Music In 2017!

First Metallica broke their studio silence, and now System Of A Down are joining in too (we're still waiting for Tool, though)! SOAD has confirmed that they will be releasing new music in the new year.

It's been 11 years since the band's last release: a duo album in the form of Mesmerize and Hypnotize. The band's members have been touring with System Of A Down on and off over the last decade, as well as working on their own side projects. It's finally time to buckle down and create some new music for fans, though.

In an interview with Kerrang, drummer John Dolmayan stated the following:

We’ve been working on a new album for the last six months and there’s about 15 songs that I think are album-worthy... We don’t know what’s happening in terms of release, it’s still not 100% as far as plans go... I want everyone on board and feeling good about it, that’s what we’re trying to accomplish right now. There’s a tremendous amount of pressure on us, though, because it’s been 11 years – at least 12 by the time it comes out.
— Kerrang

There you have it! According to Dolmayan, it looks like it may not be until mid or late 2017 until we get a taste of the new music, but it's certainly on its way. Fans looking for more of the band's signature sound may be in for a surprise, however. Continuing on in the interview, Dolmayan claimed the band are not looking to create "Toxicity Part 2... This needs to be something for a new generation of System Of A Down fans, so everyone can see we’re not resting on our laurels. I’m not gonna put my name on an album I’m not 100% proud of."

Vocalist Serj Tankian expressed in an interview earlier in the year that new music is in the works, but it might not even by SOAD music - whether or not it is, though, we're sure it'll be great. System Of A Down just made 2017 a whole lot better.

Avenged Sevenfold Dropping Surprise Album Tomorrow

Avenged Sevenfold are throwing us for a loop. The alternative metal outfit is allegedly releasing their new album tomorrow. 

The band will release The Stage on Friday, October 28 if reports are correct. The title track 'The Stage' - which we reviewed here - was released as a single earlier this week with a music video.

The cover and tracklist for The Stage are as follows:

  1. The Stage (8:32)
  2.  Paradigm (4:19)
  3. Sunny Disposition (6:41)
  4. God Damn (3:42)
  5. Creating God (5:35)
  6. Angels (5:41)
  7. Simulation (5:31)
  8. Higher (6:29)
  9. Roman Sky (5:00)
  10. Fermi Paradox (6:31)
  11. Exist (15:39)

The album clocks in at around 71 minutes - that's a lot of new material. Are you ready for new music from Avenged Sevenfold. Their last effort was in 2013, with Hail To The King .